Minutes for State Board for Career and Technical Education November 25, 2024

Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the State Board for Career and Technical Education was held on Monday, November 25, 2024, in the CTE Conference Room and via Microsoft Teams. It was called to order by Chair Sonia Meehl at 10:02 am CT.

Roll call was conducted and voting members present include:

Board Member Levi Bachmeier Superintendent Kirsten Baesler Board Member Pat Bertagnolli Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom Chancellor Mark Hagerott Vice-Chair Mike McHugh Board Member Eric Nelson

Also present: Wayde Sick, Mark Wagner, Gwen Ferderer, Laurie Elliott, Pam Stroklund, Daniel Spellerberg, Lyle Krueger, Randal Brockman, Mike Hanson, Sara Vollmer, Courtney Bernhardt, David Steffan, Maggie Backen, Kelly Pierce, Nikki Fideldy-Doll and Lorie Ruff.

Meeting chat information for this meeting does not exist.

Board Outcome Progress Monitoring:

Wayde Sick reviewed Student Outcome Goal 2, proposing new target numbers for GPM 2.1 and 2.3 for 2024 through 2028 and changing the measurement tool in 2.2 from Choice Ready Report to Consolidated Annual Report. The proposed changes are because we have already surpassed our five-year goal and the CAR is a better measuring tool to track student's achievements. Wayde then presented the proposed adjustments to the monitoring calendar, removing the Board Self Evaluation from August as that is typically the month of the Board's planning retreat and moving Formative Director Evaluation to November to align with the Board's accepted policy. Finally, Wayde reviewed GPM 2.1, 3.1 and 3.2 Monitoring Report stating that the verbiage referring to ND Choice Ready be changed to Consolidated Annual Report and that the qualified teacher data numbers are not available at this time. After some discussion, there were questions if Director Guardrail PM 3.1 numbers were correct. Wayde will check into these and let members know. Superintendent Baesler moved to accept Wayde Sick's recommendations to change the GPM 2.1 and 2.3 targets, the Monitoring Calendar, PM 2.2 Monitoring Report and Guardrail Progress Measures Monitoring Report and allow Wayde Sick to make any corrections to PM 3.1 if he finds that it's misrepresented. It was seconded by Mike McHugh. The motion passed unanimously.

Consent Agenda:

Mike McHugh moved to approve and accept the items listed on the consent agenda and it was seconded by Levi Bachmeier. The motion passed unanimously.

Information Only:

Board Time Tracker: Laurie Elliott reviewed the October meeting tracker that was included in the material packet. Funding Subcommittee Update: Reference was made to the report included in the material packet. The subcommittee's next meeting will be December 3 with the hopes of bringing a document to be considered at this Board's December 16th meeting.

Modernization of the Career Clusters Framework: Wayde referred to the guidebook and explained key terminology and the Framework wheel. These have not been revised since 2002-03. Page 36 displays the crosswalk from the old framework to the modernized framework. The agency's next steps are to define what a CTE concentrator is, align our current course codes to the new modernized frameworks, develop program of studies and look at teacher licensing. Wayde Sick will provide Board members with updates as we continue to work through these.

Items for Discussion and Possible Action:

Approve Director Formative Evaluation: Chair Meehl referred to evaluation documents that were included in the material packet and informed members that she has reviewed these results with Wayde Sick. There are a few comments that Wayde needs clarification and he will contact those individuals. Board members commended Wayde for a job well done and his willingness to be transparent and engaging with this Board. Lyndsi Engstrom moved to approve the Director's Formative Evaluation and it was seconded by Mike McHugh. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered:

Chancellor Hagerott – Aye Vice-Chair Mike McHugh – Aye Board Member Eric Nelson - Aye Board Member Levi Bachmeier - Aye Superintendent Baesler – Aye Board Member Pat Bertagnolli - Aye Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom - Aye Chair Sonia Meehl - Aye 8-0-1 Absent

The approved evaluation will be signed and placed in Wayde Sick's personnel file.

Conduct Board Self Evaluation: Chair Meehl reminded members that everyone was to assess on the digital survey where they felt this Board was progressing. Seven responses were received. Discussion was held on the current ranking of each framework compared to the last quarter, as well as completing where Members feel we will rank next quarter. Total scores consisted of 13 last quarter, 38 for the current quarter and 38 for next quarter with a student outcome and adult behavior percentage of 47.38. Mike McHugh moved to approve the quarterly progress tracker and it was seconded by Lyndsi Engstrom. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered:

Superintendent Baesler – Aye Board Member Pat Bertagnolli - Aye Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom - Aye Chancellor Hagerott – Aye Vice-Chair Mike McHugh – Aye Board Member Eric Nelson - Aye Board Member Levi Bachmeier - Aye Chair Sonia Meehl - Aye 8-0-1 Absent

Lorie Ruff will scan signed document and send to Chair Meehl and Laurie Elliott for their files.

First Reading of Proposed Train ND Funding Policy: Wayde Sick reminded members that the draft policy and his recommendations were included in the packet. During the 2023 Legislative Session a bill was introduced that would codify how TrainND funding was distributed to the four regions. The original bill did not pass but was turned into a legislative study on how funds should be distributed. Wayde Sick recommends approval of the TrainND Funding Policy effective July 1, 2025. Mike McHugh moved to approve this as a first reading of the proposed TrainND Funding Policy and Superintendent Baesler seconded it. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered:

Board Member Eric Nelson - Aye Board Member Levi Bachmeier – Aye Superintendent Baesler – Aye Board Member Pat Bertagnolli - Aye Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom - Aye Chancellor Hagerott – Aye Vice-Chair Mike McHugh – Aye Chair Sonia Meehl - Aye 8-0-1 Absent

Prior to the next meeting Wayde Sick will contact stakeholders for their comments of this proposed policy.

Due to other commitments, Chancellor Hagerott left the meeting at 12:06 pm.

Board Comments:

Chair Meehl thanked everyone for their work on the Director's Evaluation and the Board Self Evaluation. She also informed members that the agency is working on an accessible location for our working documents.

There being no other business brought before the Board, the meeting adjourned at 12:07 pm.